Add README.md
authorPeter Mattern <pmattern@arcor.de>
Mon, 5 Sep 2016 14:50:03 +0000 (16:50 +0200)
committerPeter Mattern <pmattern@arcor.de>
Wed, 7 Sep 2016 13:56:40 +0000 (15:56 +0200)
README.md [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/README.md b/README.md
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..c06079a
--- /dev/null
+++ b/README.md
@@ -0,0 +1,20 @@
+# liblxqt
+
+## Overview
+
+`liblxqt` represents the core library of LXQt providing essential functionality needed by nearly all of its components.
+
+## Installation
+
+### Sources
+
+Its runtime dependencies are libxss, KWindowSystem, qtbase, qtx11extras and [libqtxdg](https://github.com/lxde/libqtxdg).   
+Additional build dependencies are CMake and optionally Git to pull latest VCS checkouts. The localization files were outsourced to repository [lxqt-l10n](https://github.com/lxde/lxqt-l10n) so the corresponding dependencies are needed, too. Please refer to this repository's `README.md` for further information.   
+
+Code configuration is handled by CMake. CMake variable `CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX` will normally have to be set to `/usr`, depending on the way library paths are dealt with on 64bit systems variables like `CMAKE_INSTALL_LIBDIR` may have to be set as well.
+
+To build run `make`, to install `make install` which accepts variable `DESTDIR` as usual.   
+
+### Binary packages
+
+The library is provided by all major Linux distributions like Arch Linux, Debian, Fedora and openSUSE. Just use your package manager to search for string `liblxqt`.